Skip to main content

Hawaii Laws 1822-1959: 1822-1898 Kingdom +

Where can you locate Hawaii Laws? This guide is an attempt to answer that question.

Abbreviations and General Information

Roster of Legislatures of Hawaii (1918) (Internet Archive Link)

Hawaii. Laws, etc, and Robert Colfax Lydecker. Roster Legislatures of Hawaii, 1841-1918 [Electronic Resource] : Constitutions of Monarchy and Republic : Speeches of Sovereigns and President. Honolulu : Hawaiian Gazette Co., 1918. http://archive.org/details/rosterlegislatur00hawarich.
 
Key to Location of Copies:

AH:  Archives of Hawaii – Hawaii State Archives Catalog Available Online
BM:  Bishop Museum
CL:  Carter Library, Hawaiian Mission Children’s Society
HS:  Hawaiian Historical Society
SC:  Supreme Court
UH:  University of Hawaii Law Library
UHH: Hamilton Library
LH:  Library of Hawaii
PS:  Punahou School Library
LLMC:  http:///llmc.com/OpenAccess/Volumes.aspx?set=77102
Punawaiola (Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives): http://punawaiola.org/KDA/browse/Kingdom/LinksKingdomLaw.html

Heinonline (Proprietary to UH Logins; Public access from computers in UH Law Library): Session Laws 1845 - present

Constitutions:

  1. 1840 Kamehameha III
  2. 1852 Kamehameha III (LLMC Open Access link)
  3. 1864 Kamehameha IV
  4. 1887 Kalakaua
  5. 1894 Republic of Hawaii
  6. 1900 Organic Act

Five Constitutions before 1900; Laws of 1842 and Land Commission, 1845 -6; Annexation document; Organic Act, 1900, are found in Fundamental Law of Hawaiʻiavailable at Google Books.

Newspapers:

Chronicling America (http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/) has digitized newspapers from Hawaii beginning June 1840.

Other Resources:

Library of Congress Portal

Privy Council Minutes 1845-92 (LLMC Open Access)

1822-1898

Date Title Pages Remarks Location
1822 Notices (two) 1 First printed laws. In Ralph S. Kuykendall and Herbert E. Gregory, A History of Hawaii (New York: Macmillan Company, 1926), 128.
UHH DU625. K8
1827 Proclamation of the Law
Six Laws forbidding murder, theft, fornication, rum selling, prostitution, and gambling.
1 Second printed laws Eng. In Frear, W. F. “Hawaiian Statute Law.” Report. Annual Report of the Hawaiian Historical Society. Honolulu, H.I. : The Society, 1906, p. 27.  http://evols.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/handle/10524/65.
1835 Compiled Laws
(Kamehameha III)
7 2d ed. of 1834 Laws in Hawaiian

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=27223427

1842 Translation of Constitution and laws … reign of Kamehameha III (1835- 1842) 200 “Blue Book.”  Also referred to as “Old Laws.” Translated from 196 pp. edition of 1841.  Another edition in 1894.

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH (reserve), PS

LLMC (Eng.):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=46283859

LLMC (Eng.):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=45938596

Google Books

Heinonline (Eng.) - Proprietary for UH Logins

1843 The Laws and Resolutions Passed at the Annual Council of the Hawaiian Nobles and Representatives Convened According to the Constitution, at Lahaina, April 1843
Apr. 10 - Apr. 28, 1843 (16 days)
6 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng.):
http:///llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26345258

Punawaiola (Eng.):
http://punawaiola.org/fedora/get/Punawaiola:771021843001/CompositePDF771021843001

1845–46

Statute laws, 1845/6.  Vol. 1,

Includes index
Apr. 2 - Apr. 27, 1845 (120) days;
Apr. 30 - Nov. 9, 1846 (32 days)
382 Compiled Laws 1846
First two Acts (Ricord)

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng.) Vol 1:
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=55643325

1847

Statute laws, 1847.  Vol. 2. Kamehameha III;

Treaties pp. 100-106; Index;

pp.67-99 Joint Resolutions Appendix
Apr. 21 - Sep. 29, 1847 (33 days)
134 Session Laws; Includes foreign treaties; Third Act: An Act to Organize the Judiciary

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng.) Vol. 2:
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=55679507

1848 Supplement to Statute Laws, 1848. Kamehameha III; Index
Apr. 25 - June 12, 1848 (25 days)
 
79  

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25749377

1849

NO LAWS;
Apr. 30 - Apr. 30, 1849 (1 day)

    In Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link), p. 25.
"NOTE: As only a few members were present, and no laws had been
drawn up for enactment, the legislature of 1849 adjourned, subject to the
call of the King, until the month of April, 1850."
1850 Penal Code (and) Session Laws, 1850. Kamehameha III
​May 3 - Aug. 20, 1850 (38 days)
xxxi, 243 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=33160589

Heinonline (Eng.) - Proprietary for UH Logins

1851

Session laws, 1851. Kamehameha III; Index
Apr. 30 - June 21, 1851 (32 days)

 

120 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, PS,

LLMC (Eng);
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683314

1852 Constitution, June 14, 1852. Kamehameha III 14 Constitution, 105 Articles

Eng (Print):  CL, Ah, BM, UH

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683399

1852 Constitution and Session laws, 1852. Kamehameha III; Index
Apr. 7 - July 9, 1852
88 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, LH, PS,

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683399

1853 Session laws, 1853. Kamehameha III; Index
Apr. 6 - June 25, 1853
 
78 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683489

1854

Session laws, 1854. Kamehameha III: Index
Apr. 8 - Aug. 12, 1854

46 Session Laws
Kamehameha III died Dec. 15, 1854.

Eng:  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, PS, SC

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25749662

1855 Session laws, 1855. Kamehameha IV; Index pp. 47-51; Treaties pp. 53-71
Apr. 7 - June 16, 1855
71 Session Laws; Includes treaties with England, Bremen, Sweden, and Norway

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683573

1855  Special Session, 1855. Kamehameha IV; 
July 30 - Aug. 12, 1855
  Appropriations bill. In Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link), p. 64.
1856 Session laws, 1856. Kamehameha IV; Index
Apr. 5 - June 10, 1856
70 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, UH, SC

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683637

1858-59 Special Sessions, 1858-59
June 10 - Dec. 6, 1858 (adjourned June 28 to Dec. 6)
Dec. 6, 1858 - May 4, 1859
    In Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link), p. 74.
1859 Civil Code, 1859. Kamehameha IV 555 Includes appendix with laws not repealed by Civil Code; Session laws of 1858 – 59 & treaties with foreign nations

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=4997229

1859 Civil Code, 1859. Kamehameha IV 40 3 columns to page; Civil Code and Index only

Eng (Print):  Cl, HS, BM, UH

LLMC (Eng) Code only
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=4996805

1860 Session laws, 1860. Kamehameha IV (includes Constitution of 1852 with amendments pp. 46-66)
May 23 - Aug. 28, 1860
66 Session Laws

Eng(Print):  CL, AH, BM, SC, UH

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683690

1862 Session laws, 1862. Kamehameha IV; Index
May 2 - Aug. 23, 1862
45 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25749880

1864 Constitution, signed Aug. 20, 1864 12 Constitution, 80 Articles

Eng (Print):  HS, BM (pp. 1-8), AH

In Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link).

In Fundamental Law of Hawaii (Google Books)

1865 Session laws, 1864 – 65 (Kamehameha V); Index 101 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26311746

1866 Session laws, 1866 -67. Kamehameha V. 27 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26345265

1868 Session laws, 1868 (Kamehameha V); Index 63 Session Laws

Eng : (Print) CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25683810

1869 Penal Code, 1869. Kamehameha V xlii, 367, (1), 13, (1) Includes Constitution of 1864 and Amendment of May 13, 1868

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=33161000

Heinonline (Eng.) - Proprietary for UH Logins

1870 Session laws, 1870 (Kamehameha V); Index
April 30 - July 22, 1870 (68 days)
100 Session Laws; Includes treaties with Italy, Russia and Spain.

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25750000

1872 Session laws, 1872 (Kamehameha V); Index
Apr. 30 - July 29, 1872 (75 days)
49 Session Laws; Includes Postal convention with USA; Treaty with Japan

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26345293

1873 Extra Session (Lunalilo)
Jan. 8 - 20, 1873 (10 days)
  Considering Amendments to Constitution

King's Speech in Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link), p. 125.

Lunalilo Reign: (Jan. 8, 1873 – Feb. 3 1874)

1874 Extra Session
Feb. 2 - 14, 1874
  Convened by Ministers to elect a new monarch following death of Lunalilo. In Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link), p. 126.
1874

Session laws, 1874 (Kalakaua); Index
Apr. 30 - Aug. 8, 1874 (84 days)

79 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25750125

1876 Session laws, 1876 (Kalakaua); Index
Apr. 29 - Sep. 30, 1876 (127 days)
187 Session Laws; Includes Reciprocity Treaty with USA; Treaty with Austro-Hungary

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, LH

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26335211

1878 Session laws, 1878 (Kalakaua); Index
Apr. 30 - Aug. 6, 1878 (78 days)
72 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng):
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25750152

1880 Session laws, 1880 (Kalakaua); Index
Apr. 30 - Aug. 13, 1880 (86 days)
80 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25684057

1882 Session laws, 1882 (Kalakaua); Index
Apr. 29 - Aug. 7, 1882 (77 days)
133 Session Laws; Includes Provisional Convention with Portugal

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25750273

1884 Session laws, 1884 (Kalakaua); Index
Apr. 26 - Aug. 30, 1884 (96 days)
139 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26335416

1884 Compiled laws, 1884 (Kalakaua) vi, 777 Compiled Laws 1884

Eng (Print):  CL, HS, BM, SC, UH, PS, AH (pp. 772)

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=4997785

1886 Session laws, 1886 (Kalakaua); Index
Apr. 30 - Oct. 16, 1886 (129 days)
180 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26335416

1887 Constitution signed July 6, 1887, proclaimed July 7, 1887 20

Constitution,
82 Articles

Eng (Print):  CL, HS, BM, UH, PS, AH

In Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link).

1887 Special Session laws, 1887 (Kalakaua); Index
Nov. 3, 1887 - May 28, 1888 (39 days)
88 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25750484
1888 Session laws, 1888 (Kalakaua); Index
May 29 - Sep. 11, 1888 (88 days)
248 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25684439

1890 Session laws, 1890 (Kalakaua); Index
May 21 - Nov. 14, 1890 (129 days)
271 Session Laws
Kalakaua died Jan. 20, 1891

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25684686

1892 Session laws, 1892 (Liliuokalani); Index
May 28, 1892 - Jan. 14, 1893 (171 days)
413 Session Laws; Includes Constitution of 1887 with Amendments of 1892.

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25684950

1893 Constitution … 1867 21 With Amendments of 1892 Eng (Print):  CL, UH, AH
1893 Provisional Govt. Laws … Acts 1 to 42; Index viii, 82  

Eng (Print):  CL, BM, UH, LH, AH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25685363

1894 Provisional Govt. Laws … Act 1 to 86. viii, 203  

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=45939612

1894 Constitution of Republic, promulgated July 4, 1894; LLMC Link includes Constitution on page 75 55, vi Several printings with slight variations in number of pages. 105 Articles

Eng (Print):  CL (lacks pp. i –vi), BM, UH, LH, PS, AH (lacks index),

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=45980390

1895 Constitution (and) Laws passed by Executive and Advisory Councils; Indexes; Constitution begins on page 75 130 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, BM, SC, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=45980390

1895 Special Session laws, 1895; Index
​June 12 - Aug. 15, 1895 (50 days)
 
124 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, BM, SC, UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=45997322

1896 Session laws, 1896; Index
Feb. 19 - June 15, 1896 (100 days)
327 Session Laws

Eng (Print):  CL, AH, BM, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25752097

1897 Penal laws, 1897 vi, 601  

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, BM, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=36079175

1897

Civil laws, 1897

xiii, 902  

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=4999436

Google Books

Heinonline (Eng.) - Proprietary for UH Logins

1897 Special Session, 1897
Sep. 8 - 10, 1897 (3 days)
    In Roster of Legislatures (Internet Archive link).
1898 Session laws, 1898; Index
Feb. 16 - July 7, 1898 (120 days)
219 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, BM, SC, UH, HS (lacks t.p.)

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=25752449