Skip to main content

Hawai`i Laws 1822-1959: 1900 - 1959 Territory

Where can you locate Hawaii Laws? This guide is an attempt to answer that question.

Abbreviations and General Information

Roster of Legislatures of Hawaii (1918) (Internet Archive Link)

Hawaii. Laws, etc, and Robert Colfax Lydecker. Roster Legislatures of Hawaii, 1841-1918 [Electronic Resource] : Constitutions of Monarchy and Republic : Speeches of Sovereigns and President. Honolulu : Hawaiian Gazette Co., 1918. http://archive.org/details/rosterlegislatur00hawarich.
 
Key to Location of Copies:

AH:  Archives of Hawaii – Hawaii State Archives Catalog Available Online
BM:  Bishop Museum
CL:  Carter Library, Hawaiian Mission Children’s Society
HS:  Hawaiian Historical Society
SC:  Supreme Court
UH:  University of Hawaii Law Library
UHH: Hamilton Library
LH:  Library of Hawaii
PS:  Punahou School Library
LLMC: http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/search.aspx​
Punawaiola (Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives): http://punawaiola.org/KDA/browse/Kingdom/LinksKingdomLaw.html

Heinonline (Proprietary to UH Logins; Public access from computers in UH Law Library): Session Laws 1845 - present

Constitutions:

  1. 1840 Kamehameha III
  2. 1852 Kamehameha III (LLMC Open Access link)
  3. 1864 Kamehameha IV
  4. 1887 Kalakaua
  5. 1894 Republic of Hawaii
  6. 1900 Organic Act

Five Constitutions before 1900; Laws of 1842 and Land Commission, 1845 -6; Annexation document; Organic Act, 1900, are found in Fundamental Law of Hawaiʻiavailable at Google Books.

Newspapers:

Chronicling America (http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/) has digitized newspapers from Hawaii beginning June 1840.

Other Resources:

Library of Congress Portal

Privy Council Minutes 1845-92 (LLMC Open Access)

1900 - 1959

Date Title Pages Remarks Location
1900 NO SESSION     Organic Act was before U.S. Congress at time set for session.
1901 Regular and Extra Session Laws, 1901 (Territory) 111

Session Laws; No title page.

House Journal (Google)

Senate Journal Extra Session (Google)

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, BM, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26239405

1903 Regular and Extra Session Laws, 1903; (Territory); Index 589 Session Laws; No title page.

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26290196

1904 Special Session laws, 1904; (Territory); Index 58 Session Laws; No title page.

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, BM, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26257358

1905 Revised Laws, 1905; (Territory) 1451 Includes Constitution of U.S.; Annexation documents; Organic Act

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, PS, BM, SC, UH, LH

Google Books
 

1905 Regular and Extra Session Laws, 1905; (Territory); Index ix, (1), 374 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26239470

1907 Regular Session Laws, 1907  (Territory) xi, (1), 417 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, PS, BM, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26282804

1909 Special Session Laws, 1909 (Territory); Index 129 Session Laws

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=45614217

1911

Regular Session Laws, 1911;
Special Session Laws, 1909  (Territory)

xiv, (2), 421 Session Laws; Includes Organic Act with Amendments.

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, HS, BM, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng) 
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26275980

1913 Regular Session Laws, 1913  (Territory) xv, (3), 405 Session Laws; Errata follows Table of Contents

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, HS, BM, UH, OS, SC (lacks errata)

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26276124

1915 Regular Session Laws, 1915  (Territory) xix, (1), 423 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, LH, PS, SC, UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26257591

1915

Revised Laws, 1915  (Territory)

(2),

1835
Includes Joint Resolution of Annexation, Organic Act and Index.

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, HS, LH, SC, UH, PS 

Google Books

1917 Regular Session Laws, 1917  (Territory 9th Leg.) (2), xxiv, 615 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, UH, LH, SC, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26276330

1918 Special Session Laws, 1918  (Territory) iv, 54 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, UH, LH, SC, PS

LLMC (Eng) 
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26276646

1919 Regular Session Laws, 1919  (Territory 10th Leg.) xxvii, 438 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, UH, LH, SC, PS

LLMC (Eng) 
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=52156678

1920

Special Session Laws, 1920 (Territory)

58 Session Laws

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26283949

1920-21

Special Session Laws, 1920.
Regular Session Laws, 1921  (Territory)

x, 48, xxviii, 458 Session Laws; Bound together, but separate title pages; paged separately.

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, BM, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26276709

1923 Regular Session Laws, 1923 (Territory) xxx, 414 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  AH, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26257822

1925 Regular Session Laws, 1925 (Territory 13th Leg.) xxviii, 469 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, Ah, BM, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26258055

1925 Revised Laws, 1925, Vols. 1 & 2 Appendix (Territory) 1840 v1; 2249 both vols. Includes Constitution of the U.S.; Joint Resolution of Annexation; Organic Act and Index; Bill of Rights, 1923; Appendix Includes Kuleana Act

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, HS, SC, UH, LH, PS

1927 Regular Session Laws, 1927 (Territory 14th Leg.) 459 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26258288

1929 Regular Session Laws, 1929 (Territory 15th Leg.) xxv, (1), 424 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26258536

1931 Regular Session Laws, 1931 (Territory 16th Leg.) xxx, 557 Session Laws

UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26240800

1932 Session Laws, 1932 (1st & 2nd Special Sessions) (Territory) vi, 40, xii, 41 – 248 Session Laws; Separate title pages, although paged continuously.

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26230357

1933 Regular Session Laws, 1933  (Territory 17th Leg.) xxiii, (1), 358 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26221680

1933-34 Special Session Laws, 1933 – 1934  (Territory) viii, 134 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  CL, AH, SC, UH, LH

1935 Regular Session Laws, 1935 (Territory 18th Leg.) xxii, 384 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  AH, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng) 
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26293670

1935 Revised Laws, 1936 (Territory) 1453 Compiled Code; Two columns to page.

Eng: (Print)  AH, SC, UH, LH, PS

1937 Regular Session Laws, 1937 (Territory 19th Leg.) xxvii, (1), 468 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  AH, SC, UH, LH, PS

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26259044

1939 Regular Session Laws, 1939 (Territory 20th Leg.) xxvii, (1), 532 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  AH, SC, UH, LH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26241344

1941 Regular Session Laws, 1941 (Territory 21st Leg.) 651 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=52124916

1941 Special Session Laws, 1941 (Territory 20th Leg.) 275 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=52343079

1943 Regular Session Laws, 1943 (Territory 22d Leg.) 406 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26259570

1945 Regular Session Laws, 1945 (Territory 23d Leg.) 560 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26230688

1947 Regular Session Laws, 1947 (Territory 24th Leg.) 754 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26241825

1949 Regular Session Laws, 1949 (Territory 25th Leg.) 951 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

Heinonline (Eng.) - Proprietary for UH Logins

1949 Special  Session Laws, 1949 (Territory 25th Leg.) 153 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26230984

1950 Special Session Laws, 1950 (Territory) 15 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26290709

1951 Regular Session Laws, 1951 (Territory 26th Leg.) 968 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26293882

1953 Regular Session Laws, 1953 (Territory 27th Leg.) 825 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26242202

1954 Special Session Laws, 1954 (Territory) 11 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26222239

1955 Regular Session Laws, 1955 (Territory 28th Leg.) 679 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26284203

1956

Special Session Laws, 1956

(Territory)
16 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26242597

1957 Regular Session Laws, 1957 (Territory 29th Leg.) 579 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=45997368

1957 Special Session Laws, 1957 (Territory 29th Leg.) 70 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26242597

1959 Regular Session Laws, 1959 (Territory 30th Leg.) 444 Session Laws

Eng: (Print)  UH

LLMC (Eng)
http://www.llmc.com/OpenAccess/docdisplay.aspx?textid=26242939